Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Jr
    Posts
    3

    Connection status, CONNECTING, doesn't change

    Hi,

    I've noticed that if the LS server is down and the user tries to connect, the connection status is set to CONNECTING.

    The problem is, that when I bring the LS server up, the connection status (at the previously opened user) stays CONNECTING and not turning into STREAMING as expected.

    If the user preforms refresh, the status goes from CONNECTING to STREAMING as expected.

    Is there a resolution for the problem described ?

  2. #2
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Hi, that's strange, once disconnected the client will try to reconnect until it is connected (or until you call the changeStatus("DISCONNECTED") method)

    please open your app with firefox+firebug; open firebug while running your application and restart your server. If everything works as expected you'll see:
    • the client will pass from STREAMING to STALLED (see setTimeoutForStalled & setTimeoutForReconnect )
    • the client will go to the CONNECTING status; in firebug you'll see a create_session.js request.
    • If the server is still down you'll see that periodically the client will try to send creatre_session.js requests.
    what happens with your application?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Jr
    Posts
    3

    Not quite the problem I described

    Thank you for the swift reply but the situation you described is working but isn't the one I was pointing out.

    My problem arise if the LS Server is DOWN and the user opens his browser. Then the status goes into CONNECTING but won't shift into STREAMING when I bring the LS Server back up.

    No creatre_session.js requests are send!

    It looks like if the connection wasn't established on page loading - it won't be established at all (until refresh).

    Any thoughts ?

  4. #4
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Hi,

    you're right it' a bug.
    I'll fix it for the next release,
    thanks for your feedback

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Jr
    Posts
    3
    Hello again,

    It has been a while and our system is moving towards it's delivery. I was wondering whether the bug was resolved or a workaround was found ?

    We are using your commercial version and would like to resolve this netter before putting our system into production.


    regards,
    Edi

  6. #6
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    mr_gray,

    the bug fix is already available in our development version, please contact support@lightstreamer.com to ask for a preview of the fixed library

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Will session id change when connection mode change?
    By LS_Developer in forum Client APIs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 6th, 2012, 08:58 AM
  2. Message on the status bar (IE)
    By mohamida in forum Client APIs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 15th, 2010, 12:18 PM
  3. status change when the content length is reached
    By riwang in forum Client APIs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 21st, 2009, 09:37 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 30th, 2008, 01:47 PM
  5. Firefox 1.0 - 1.5.0.7 --> Status bar issue
    By Mone in forum Client APIs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 7th, 2006, 11:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:51 AM.