Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Bind Error

  1. #11
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Hi,

    could you check this demo: http://app.lightstreamer.com/_StockL...ple/index.html with your IE7?

    Is this working?
    Do you see some javascript exceptions?

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    sdfsdf
    Posts
    4
    Hi,
    I can access the url given in IE7.
    Is it some configuration problem with my code
    var lsPage = new PushPage();
    //lsPage.context.setDebugAlertsOnClientError(false);
    lsPage.context.setDomain("mycomp.co.in");
    lsPage.onEngineCreation = startEngine;
    lsPage.bind();
    alert('create engine');
    lsPage.createEngine("SLEngine", "ls/");
    //starting subscribing first 15 stocks
    changePage(1);

    function startEngine(eng) {
    eng.context.setDebugAlertsOnClientError(true);
    eng.policy.setMaxBandwidth(30);
    eng.policy.setIdleTimeout(30000);
    eng.policy.setPollingInterval(1000);
    eng.connection.setLSHost("mycomp.co.in");
    eng.connection.setLSPort(9990);
    eng.connection.setAdapterName("STOCKLISTDEMO");
    eng.changeStatus("STREAMING");

  3. #13
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Hi,

    you are in a particular case where the domain set is equal to Lightstreamer host.
    Please take a look at the documentation of the setDomain method, you will find some info there.

    NOTE: I've deleted the application at http://app.lightstreamer.com/_StockL...ple/index.html

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    sdfsdf
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    Changed the domain name to null.It works fine now.
    Thanks

  5. #15
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    If you can you should change the hostname or the domain in a way that they look different.

    eg:
    domain - lightstreamer.com
    LSHost - push.lightstreamer.com

    this way you will see your app running on both IE and FX

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    rmd
    Posts
    30

    changing domain & host

    but in that case it says that domain and hosts are inconsistent. actually wht's meant by this domain and host. it confuses many times. specially in the case of deploying in two servers as external web server and light stream server. Can you please make a simple but detailed description of these two. Also can you please tell us how to create these host/domain in developer environment and production environment?

  7. #17
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milan
    Posts
    1,090
    The setting of "domain names" on the pages is imposed by the browsers, any time you need to allow pages coming from different hosts to see each other.
    See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Same_origin_policy, for instance.

    Lightstreamer must cope with this limitation, because production front-ends based on Lightstreamer take pages from both a web server and Lightstreamer Server
    and the Web Client Library just wraps the domain name setting through the "setDomain" method.

    The general rule is that you must supply to "setDomain" a domain name such that both the web server host name and Lightstreamer Server host name are compatible with the chosen domain name, where:
    • The web server host name is the one contained in the url by which you recall the pages.
    • Lightstreamer Server host name is the name you supply to "setLSHost".

    Obviously, if no domain name ensures compatibility with the required web server and Lightstreamer Server host names, then the front-end can't push.

    The compatibility rules depend on the browsers.
    I have no link to the complete rule; I hope someone who has could contribute. The most common case is that the xxx.yyy.zzz host name is compatible with the yyy.zzz domain name, but many special cases are also covered.
    The web client library performs a preliminary check on the names supplied.
    In your case, if you used a domain name and a LSHost which are consistent (as in the example by Simone), you might incur in an inconsistency between the domain name and the web server host name you used to recall your page from the browser.

    There are no different rules for production and development environments.
    However, there are cases that are not suitable for production but may be adopted for development if development environment limitations leave them as the only possible resort.
    For instance in your development environment, the web server, Lightstreamer Server and test browser may all be on the same PC and no name of the form xxx.yyy.zzz may be available to access it, but only "localhost".
    In this case, we suggest that you play with your "hosts" file in order to set dummy names for your PC;
    but it turned out that you might also use "localhost" as LSHost and also recall the pages from "localhost", provided that you
    either issue setDomain(null) and see the pages on an IE browser,
    or issue setDomain("localhost") and see the pages on a FF browser.

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pyrmont
    Posts
    25
    Hello,

    I've been reading some of the posts regarding bind errors - mostly around setting hostnames and domain names.

    I've set up an web server + lightstreamer server on the same machine with:

    web server domain name: mysite.com
    lightstreamer server: lightstreamer.mysite.com
    lightstreamer server port: 8090

    I've managed to have a page served from the web server working on Firefox and Chrome, but I'm having trouble with IE6 and IE7 - I get the following error "ER bind Unable to find the Engine. Retrying. If the problem persists, please check your configuration."

    This is what I've set up:


    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
    <title>mysite.com</title>
    <script language="JavaScript" src="ls/lscommons.js"></script>
    <script language="JavaScript" src="ls/lspushpage.js"></script>
    </head>
    <body>

    <div class="fieldA" source="lightstreamer" table="mytable" item="theItem" field="fieldA">
    LOADING...
    </div>

    <div class="fieldB"source="lightstreamer" table="mytable" item="theItem" field="fieldB">
    LOADING...
    </div>

    <script type="text/javascript">

    var page = new PushPage();
    page.context.setDomain("mysite.com");
    page.onEngineCreation = function(engine) {
    engine.context.setDebugAlertsOnClientError(true);

    engine.connection.setLSHost("lightstreamer.mysite. com");
    engine.connection.setLSPort(8090);
    engine.connection.setAdapterName("MYSITE");
    engine.changeStatus("STREAMING");
    }
    page.bind();
    page.createEngine("MySiteApp", "ls", "SHARE_SESSION");

    var pushtable = new OverwriteTable(null, null, "MERGE");
    pushtable.setPushedHtmlEnabled(true);
    pushtable.setSnapshotRequired(true);
    page.addTable(pushtable, "mytable");
    </script>

    </body>
    </html>


    From the JS API (http://www.lightstreamer.com/docs/cl...html#setDomain) - I've set the domain to be null for IE, but with no luck.

    Just wondering if I'm missing something?

    Many Thanks,

    C

  9. #19
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    hi,

    the problem with IE is that your web server is equal to your domain name.
    you should extend your web server name to let the application run on IE:

    web server: web.mysite.com
    domain name:
    mysite.com
    lightstreamer server: lightstreamer.mysite.com
    lightstreamer server port: 8090

    Hope that helps

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pyrmont
    Posts
    25
    Thanks! It worked

    Just a note if anyone is testing this locally, I updated my hosts file with the 3 domains mentioned below.

    127.0.0.1 mysite.com
    127.0.0.1 web.mysite.com
    127.0.0.1 lightstreamer.mysite.com

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 26th, 2010, 05:09 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 6th, 2008, 12:05 PM
  3. ER bind problem
    By gerald.logor in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 18th, 2008, 09:46 AM
  4. ER bind Unable to find the Engine
    By eduramires in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 4th, 2008, 10:14 AM
  5. ER bind Unable to find the Engine
    By eduramires in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 29th, 2008, 06:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 AM.