Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salò
    Posts
    6

    visualtable's hottime and old machines

    Hi all,
    I'm writing an application which also needs to run on old machines (pentium 3 and IE6).
    I need something like lightstreamer's hot/cold time switching but it's too heavy on those old machines as I can have up to 50 topics to display at once.
    With 80 or more topicsI get the javascript engine stucked or the master push page not being able to perform the first snapshot (it loops from connecting to polling and viceversa).
    Is there a lighter way to perform cell blinking?

  2. #2
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    hi,

    are setHotToColdTime and setColdToHotTime set to 0?

    to try to let the page perform better you could avoid the style change during the initial snapshot applying 0 to setHotTime on the first update per each item and/or you could change the background of only part of your fields.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salò
    Posts
    6
    Yes, i tryed both removing onUpdateItems/onChangingValue events and setting hottocold and coldtohot time to 0.
    Performance increased drammatically but cell blinking on change value is a requirement.
    Anyway I'll try to reduce the number of fields which should be blinked and see how it goes.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    what about avoid the blinking only on the first update?

    if you make use of the initial snapshot you receive a burst of updates when the application starts, but probably, after that burst, less updates reach the client at once.

    So if you just avoid the blinking on the first update the application will be able to start without saturating the CPU and afterwards you could re-enable the blinking on your fields without the huge impact on performances.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    not
    Posts
    41
    Hi Mone, you said:
    to try to let the page perform better you could avoid the style change during the initial snapshot applying 0 to setHotTime on the first update per each item
    How to do that ?
    because the function to detect that it's the first snapshot is done in the onItemUpdate funtion, while setting the hotTime attribute is done in the onChangingValues function ???

  6. #6
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784
    you have to pass the information from one callback to the other.

    there is not a fixed way to do that, you can leverage the extra fields (see the addField method) or any other idea you may come up with.

    Our StocklistDemo uses the extra field approach (see the use of the doFade flag and the #fade field)

    HTH

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    not
    Posts
    41
    Thank you Mone.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Choice of VisualTable and Event handlers
    By genkijo in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 20th, 2010, 10:20 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 21st, 2010, 01:25 PM
  3. format value in VisualTable
    By tuongkha in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 10:27 AM
  4. Error with VisualTable
    By tuongkha in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: July 8th, 2008, 10:16 AM
  5. VisualTable = How to capture value?
    By bayu in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 17th, 2007, 11:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 AM.