Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3

    Lightstreamer on AIX 5.3

    I am running Ligthstreamer on AIX 5.3 and it has been running fine. I then obtained the MAC address using the netstat -ia command and using this address obtained the license file. After updating the config file with the license information, I get the "Starting MAC address check" message and the next message is "Could not check license." Is anyone else running Lightstreamer on AIX and seen a similar problem?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milan
    Posts
    1,022
    License checks used to suffer from compatibility issues only before Java 6.
    May you please confirm that you are not using Java 6?
    If this was the case, would it be possible for you an upgrade to Java 6?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3

    Aix 5.3

    We are currently running with Java 5. In order to upgrade to Java 6 we would have to upgrade the OS. Based on IBM website, we need to be at AIX 5300-07 or 6100-Gold. We are currently at 5300-05. The plan is to eventually upgrade to 6100 but that is at least a couple of months away. Is there a temporary work around in the meantime?
    Thanks,
    Elliott

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milan
    Posts
    1,022
    If you are still in a development phase and just want to avoid the limitations posed by the unregistered mode, then you could get an evaluation license.
    See the limitations here.
    The evaluation license requires the Allegro/Presto/Vivace package version. If you configure the Server for Allegro version, you can test nearly the same limitations as for Moderato version.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3

    Upgrade to Java6 and AIX6.1

    We have upgraded our test machine to AIX6.1 and installed java6_64. The lightstreamer server now recognizes the MAC address and we no longer get a license error. It therefore appears that going to java6 fixed the problem.
    Thanks,
    Elliott

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milan, Italy
    Posts
    518
    Elliott,

    Thanks for this update.

    Cheers,

    Alessandro

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:06 PM.