Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784

    Dynamically size a table

    Quote Originally Posted by EriOor
    Is it possible to dynamically size the table, IE get more lines when more data is available and remove lines when data is removed? (Is there an example somewhere?)
    I will need to monitor a queue with this project. Items can be added to and removed from the queue. I'd like the table to hold exactly these items, no more, no less.
    There are different ways to change the subscribed data on a client.

    The simplest way is to subscribe each item with a different table.
    With the .NET client you can do this using LSClient's SubscribeItems method (passing to it a single ExtendedTableInfo object) that will return an array of SubscribedTableKey (one SubscribedTableKey instance per each item contained in the ExtendedTableInfo ).
    You can then use the unsubscribeTable method to remove a single item from the subscribed ones or reissue a SubscribeItems to add new items.

    Please let me know if this approach does not fit your needs.

    Bye!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dus
    Posts
    5

    Question

    If I understand correctly, this approach will subscibe to items already existing in the backend. But what if the backend changes?

    To elaborate: I am monitoring a phone queue. The queue can be empty or there can be multiple items in it. When the queue is empty, the frontend should not show any items. When there is a queue waiting, it should show all the items in the queue. As the queue can grow infinately (theoretically), I am not able to predict how many items I should subscribe to.

    Is there any way to get extended information over the open connection, like how many items there are in the queue, so the table can grow to that size?

    Thanks again!
    Kind regards,
    Erik.

  3. #3
    Power Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cesano Maderno, Italy
    Posts
    784

    COMMAND mode

    EriOor, probably what you need is the COMMAND mode. Please take a look to these threads:
    http://www.lightstreamer.com/vb/showthread.php?t=58
    http://www.lightstreamer.com/vb/showthread.php?t=63

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Default buffer size
    By felipe.valemobi in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 19th, 2011, 12:33 PM
  2. Adding/Removing items dynamically
    By Otake in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 17th, 2009, 03:15 PM
  3. How can I limit the log file size ?
    By GoatHunter in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 25th, 2009, 11:54 AM
  4. Maximum size of updates and messages?
    By jweber in forum Client SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 11th, 2009, 04:34 PM
  5. dynamically subscribe items
    By rd2008 in forum General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 10th, 2008, 11:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:04 AM.